4 Jul 2014

This Day in Armwrestling History... JUNE DATES

June 1st, 1991

The 1991 AAA Stand-Up National Championships are held in Houston, Texas. A total of 130 competitors take part in this right arm only contest. The turnout is considerably lighter than for the 1990 event, which had more draw power due to the fact that the WAWF World Championships were being hosted in the U.S. later that year. Nevertheless, there is plenty of great armwrestling. An impressive performance is given by South Carolinian Chad Silvers, who while still a teenager wins his first AAA national title by taking the 132-lb class.

June 2nd, 2012

Devon Larratt and Tim Bresnan face each other in a Major League Armwrestling (MLA) supermatch at the Toronto Pro SuperShow in Ontario, Canada. MLA, founded by Ian “The Grippler” Carnegie, has a goal of providing top level North American pullers increased opportunities for professional supermatches. While Devon and Tim had had a supermatch back in 2005, with Devon easily winning by a score of 3 to 0, the MLA supermatch is a much closer contest. Tim takes an initial lead with a couple of quick pins, but Devon finds a way to battle back and manages to squeak out a 4-3 victory. In doing so, Devon keeps his #1 world ranking—a position he’s held since September 2008—and Tim Bresnan’s stock shoots way up!

Bonus Info: The MLA supermatch is held in conjunction with the Ontario Ironman Open: a single-class quintuple elimination right hand competition featuring cash prizes to the top 25 finishers! This event is won by French-Canadian great Sylvain Perron.

June 3rd, 2006

Day 2 of competition of the 2006 AAA National Championships takes place in Mason, Ohio. Armwrestling legend Andrew “Cobra” Rhodes wins his 12th AAA national title. New York’s Benjie Dwyer, Arkansas’ Michael Todd, and Indiana’s Harold Owens earn right arm national titles in addition to the left arm titles they won on Day 1. Floridians Amanda Wiseman and Beth Westberry also manage to accomplish this feat in the women’s division. Several pullers in attendance compete in their second national championship in less than a month (the USAA National Pro-Am Championships having occurred just three weeks prior). Of these, Rob Vigeant Jr., Steve Rau, and Harold Owens are able to secure national titles in both events.